March 2009 Babies
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Professional Advice- email wording

+3
lisa_m
dsdavin
Cheirogloss
7 posters

Go down

Professional Advice- email wording Empty Professional Advice- email wording

Post  Cheirogloss Fri Feb 13, 2009 8:28 pm

I work as a private tutor and am self-employed (i.e. I make my hours and work directly with my clients). I have 6-8 students at any given time and I travel to their home twice weekly for a total of 2 hrs/ week. I was working 12 hours/ week of teaching time and another 12 hrs. of driving time, so basically a lot of sitting and a lot of break-neck urban traffic. Since the baby is breech and I had severe edema, I haven't tutored for the past two weeks.

I told parents that I had an appt last Monday and one today (Friday) and I would contact them and let them know what my tutoring hours would be after meeting with my midwife. So this past week I had two of my student's parents call me and attempt to pressure me into tutoring their children even after I told them I wouldn't know anything until Friday. One wanted me to computer and tele-conference with her 17 yr old son, another wanted to bring her 2nd grade twin boys to me 2 hrs a week instead of me coming to them. I was horribly offended by both moms...I had just told them that the baby is breech, I might have to have a c-section or version, and on top of that my legs weren't working due to swelling...and all both moms could think about is how to get tutoring for their kids inspite of my need for personal time. And on top of that, when I told them no they continued with their pressure and suggestions while throwing in "but I understand if you need time, I just thought that the edema wouldn't get in the way if I brought them to you" or "you can sit/relax however you need to while teleconferencing with my son, so whatever you need to do because the baby is breech shouldn't interfere". Evil or Very Mad